Judge of WIll – Upgrade Complete!

Hi all and welcome to another edition of Force of Will.  This issue will highlight the changes made in the March 8, 2016 version of the Comprehensive Rules, 5.4.

The following notes are in the change log, and we will examine exactly what implications each has:

  • Clarified choice in a battle while the attacking is mandatory.
  • Defined term like “darkness ability”.
  • Defined effect of modification counters.
  • Defined source of damage.
  • Clarified term like “[+100/+100]”.
  • Defined shuffling.
  • Defined putting counters.
  • Defined term “awakened”.

The choice in a battle while the attacking is mandatory:

  • Turn player must choose to attack if any effects force them to do so. Otherwise, the turn player chooses to attack or forfeit the attack.

The difference here is in the cases of “Seven DwarFs” and “Arthur Pendragon, King of the Round Table” versus effects such as “Lancelot, Knight of the Mad Demon”.


In the case of Arthur, an effect is placed in the game where the opposing player must choose to attack with each eligible resonator they control.  With Seven Dwarfs, they individually must attack while under a player’s control, but do not force other resonators to attack.  Lancelot, however, only says that if you choose to go to battle, Lancelot must  be chosen first as an attacker.  Multiple versions of Lancelot’s effect may be chosen between if they exist, as only one could attack on each battle declaration, and entering battle once would force one of them to be chosen as an attacker, but the player may choose not to enter battle again to avoid using the other resonators to attack during the same turn.


Terms like “darkness ability”.

  • If “<information> ability” is referred to, it refers to “an ability of a card that is <information>”. Example: ‘Darkness ability’ means “an ability of a darkness card”.
  • If “<information> effect” is referred to, it refers to “an effect made by an ability of a card that is <information> “. Example: ‘Darkness effect’ means “an effect made by an ability of a darkness card”.

As you can see above, Arthur cannot be targeted by “darkness or fire” spells or abilities.  This means that if the source of the targeting spell or ability has the darkness or fire attribute, then a player cannot choose Arthur as a legal target.  A card’s attribute is checked by the symbol(s) on the bottom right of the card.
If a subtype is the <information> being referred to, it will be in the race listing of a resonator or parenthesis in the type description of the card.

Placing counters

10.21. Put a counter

  •  If an effect asks you “to put a <name> counter” on a card, put a counter with that name on the card.
    •  Use a small object that doesn’t disturb the game flow as a counter.
    •  If not specified, counters with the same name are treated as the same kind counter, regardless of how the counters are put on.
  • If a card has a counter with a name “<modifier A>/<modifier B>”, the card gains [<modifier A>/<modifier B>] as long as the card is a J/resonator. This is a continuous effect.
  • If a card moves to a zone other than from playground to playground, remove all counters on the card.

This helps us define what to do with counters.  We can use any like counter to represent a similar type of counter, but it should be recommended to bring a different type of counter for each type your deck runs, using something like color or sides of dice to differentiate the types more easily.  A counter provides a continuous effect, which is defined more completely below.  The effect does not currently appear to be from an ability on the counter, so if a replacement effect looks to double a bonus provided by a spell or ability, it would not be able to replace this effect as no spell nor ability is generating it.  It is also of note that a J-Ruler without ATK or DEF cannot gain, even if a modification counter attempts to do so.


Defined effect of modification counters.

  • If two or more continuous effects are applied, they are applied in the order below:
  1. Information on the card itself and base abilities on the card are the base information.
  2. Apply all continuous effects that add or remove any ability.
  3. Apply all continuous effects that change non-value information.
  4. Apply all non-counter continuous effects that change value information.
  5. Apply all continuous effects of counters that change value information.

This lets us know to add in the counter bonuses last.  However, If an effect lowers a value below 0, then that negative value must be overcome by bonuses even from counters before a positive value is achieved.  If a value is negative at the end of all continuous effects, it is treated as 0.

Terms like “[+100/+100]”.

  • A card “gains [<modifier A>/<modifier B>]” means the ATK of the card is modified by <modifier A> and its DEF is modified by <modifier B>.

This both looks self explanatory and helps define how modification counters interact with the game, but also lets you know that a gain can be a negative number because the modifier is what is gained, even when the modifier itself is negative to the ATK and DEF.

Source of damage

9.12. Source

  • If an effect deals damage, the source of the damage is, if not specified, a card with the ability that is making the effect.
  • If a J/resonator deals damage, the source of the damage is the J/resonator.

This applies when abilities check what caused the damage, such as “Beastly Attack” which checks for when “This Card” deals damage.  If the card has an “Ame-no-Hakiribi” attached, and deals damage, both Beastly attack and “Ame-No-Hakiribi” will trigger.  The damage from Beastly attack comes from the resonator as a source, so if it ends up damaging a resonator from an effect such as “Avatar of the Seven Lands, Alice” then both will trigger again, however because “Ame-No-Hakirbi” deals the damage from its own trigger, it cannot cause another trigger of either ability.


  • 10.20. Shuffle
  •  If an effect asks “to shuffle” cards, the player the zone belongs to randomizes the order of those cards.
    • If an effect asks to shuffle a zone, shuffle all cards in that zone.
  •  If any effects reveal or allow a player(s) to see a part of the shuffled cards, ignore the effects from the beginning of shuffling to the end.
    • During a resolution of an effect, immediately after shuffling, if the effect asks you to move a part of the cards to a specific position, the movement is considered part of the shuffle and ignore any effects that would reveal or allow a player(s) to see any of the cards until the whole action is finished.

We know that shuffling requires sufficient randomization of cards, but this section explicitly defines some important facts:

Players using the Ruler “Songstress of Shangri-La” cannot actually look at the top of their deck while shuffling, as it would be impossible to say it was randomized.  immediately after their opponent has finished randomizing their deck and handed the deck back, they may look.

When you search a deck, randomize the deck, then put the searched card on top, you are technically randomizing the deck with the location of that card known.  It never truly leaves the deck, though it is convenient and appropriate to physically set it aside and place it after shuffling the rest of the deck.The difference between this and drawing cards is that when a card is drawn it leaves the deck and enters the hand, which WOULD allow a player to look a card further with Songstress, or with “Laplacia, the Demon of Fate”

The term “awakened”

  • “To awaken” a card means to play the card paying its [Awakening] cost.

This means when a card looks for a trigger when something is awakened, or when something that is awakened checks to see if it has additional text, it refers to the moment the additional cost was paid for an individual awakening ability.  A card with multiple Awaken costs can be awakened multiple time, such as a “The Little Match Girl”.  When determining the amount of each awakening, even if 0 is chosen, it can be considered awakened with an X value of 0, causing triggers and allowing for other effects to occur, such as a search and shuffle of the deck.

Other interactions of note:

Lunar Ibis has an “If you do” Clause, meaning the targeted resonator MUST be recovered form a rested position as part of the effect in order to gain counters.

Players cannot chase to this card does not prevent automatic abilities from chasing to a card.

Things that say “Target” do, things that do not state target do not, except in the case of playing an addition from your hand to add to an object other than the field itself.

Activated abilities are usually recognizable by the colon (:) between a cost and an effect, or the keyword Evolution which is explicitly an activated ability.  Awakening abilities may use a colon between the cost of Awakening and the text the card includes if that cost is paid, but awakening is a continuous ability describing an additional cost to play, and not an activated ability.  Gill Lapis, the Primogenitor, cancels activated abilities with the power of the moon.

“Moon” is a subtype, so a race or a subtype of a card in play, when it is referred to.

Resonators that you controlled that dealt damage refers to cards that were in the field when their damage dealing effect was placed on the chase, not cards that deal damage from the grave.

Automatic abilities have triggering keywords, indicating a specific event or time that causes them to be placed on the chase.  Kaguya, The moonlit Savior cancels automatic abilities with the power of the moon.

…and that is a quick overview of the recent changes, helping to prepare you for your adventures with the Moonlit Savior!  Until next time on Judge of Will.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *