Judge of Will – Premier edition

Judge of Will – Premier edition

Hello and thank you for your interest in Judge of Will!

This series will cover rules interactions that judges have been noticing need clarification. In order to assist the player base and limit the necessity of judge calls during events for commonly misinterpreted scenarios, we will highlight a typical or specific example of card interaction, a simple explanation of how it should resolve, and then a more in-depth clarification using the rules.  This issue uses CR 5.11.

Let’s dive right into the number one interaction that has to be explained:

BLAZER VS RAGNAROK, BLAZER VS RAGNAROK

This interaction comes into play when you attempt to destroy a resonator and both players want to use their own replacement effect to alter the situation.  Ragnarok is essentially the same effect as blazer, but more beneficial to one player because of life gain.  So who chooses which effect to use?

The controller of the destroyed resonator chooses between Ragnarok or Blazer’s replacement effect.

Per CR 5.11, Section 9.10, “If two or more replacement effects are applied, the player of the original situation performs or the controller of the card or effect of the original situation chooses a replacement effect and apply it. “.  The situation is the resonator going to a graveyard.  The replacement effect will happen instead of the card going to the grave.

 

LITTLE DREAD VS ETNA

 


If you play little dread with an awakening to recover a resonator, and Etna in on the board and has already targeted that resonator with her awakening, then the resonator cannot recover.

The reason for this interaction is one of the golden rules of the game:

Per CR 5.11, Section 1.4, “If an effect prohibit to do something and the other effect instructs to do that, prohibiting effect precedes. ”

Also of note, the effect of the Pied Piper and Bind of Gravity do not specifically follow this rule, as they only prevent recovery in a specific phase.  They are specifically distinguishable by the words ‘does not’ and ‘can not’, meaning no effect will recover the bind during the phase, while the piper’s effect prevents the normal recover during the recovery sequence.

CLOTHES TAILOR AND HEARTLESS TINMAN

Clothes Tailor’s effect moves an Addition:Resonator.  Moving an addition adds it to another resonator.  Heartless Tinman collects counters every time the addition moves.

Per CR 5.11, Section 10.1, “If an effect moves an non-[Addition: Field] addition from non-chase area to a field, It comes into the field added on a card it can legally be added. “Card legally add” means a card in a field that type is specified in the subtype of an addition, and no effects prevent the addition to be added. If there’re no such card, the addition stays in a zone currently it’s in. ”

KAGUYA AND TREASURY ITEM ADDITIONS

Kaguya’s Enter ability is similar to clothes tailor in that in brings items into play which are then added to appropriate cards. The interesting point is that this does not target, meaning cards that cannot be targeted are legitimate choices to add to.

The second interesting point is that while resolving the effect, your opponent does not gain priority, meaning they cannot use will-producing abilities or banish as a cost to prevent their resonators from being added to, which can be relevant when the robes are added to a Spawn of Blazer or Cinderella.

This is an important thing to understand – priority and how the chase works.  When any player wants to resolve an ability and generate an effect, or to pass an empty chase, they need to pass priority to their opponent.

When the opponent chooses to add an ability, they retain priority until they wish to resolve an ability, at which point they must pass priority back.

Whoever has priority may add abilities or cards as long as they want to keep adding to the chase, but nothing will resolve until they have given an opportunity to their opponent to respond.

When both players pass priority sequentially without adding anything else, the most recent  ability added to the chase resolves and creates an effect.  during the resolution, only the player resolving the effect will have priority at all.

Once the effect completely resolves, the turn player has priority to keep adding before any other effects resolve, and the passing back and forth priority sequence has begun again.

Per CR 5.11 sec 7,  Player’s Action: “Player may perform an action while he or she has priority.”

Per CR 5.11 sec 9.7, ” A player can play will abilities while he or she has priority or when he or she needs to pay wills”

 

I will discuss the chase in even greater detail in a future article, with specific examples of how to use it to your full advantage!

Thanks for reading our premiere article. Expect more in the near future explaining interactions, rules and more from the event judges here in America for Force of Will!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *