Judge of Will — Nationals Edition!

Hello and welcome to another edition of Judge of Will!

Today, we will be discussing frequently asked questions from last weekend’s ARG Nationals, to help people understand cards or card interactions that are not uniformly understood. First, we will be discussing “Lancelot, the Knight of Mad Demon:”

Lancelot involved the second-highest number of judge calls at the tournament for me, all of which revolved around his attack trigger. When you attack with Lancelot, his attack trigger goes on the chase every time, regardless of what his ATK is at that point in time. It must target a resonator, even if that is Lancelot himself. This trigger will always resolve during the Declare Attack Step (CR 8.2) – and when the trigger does resolve, it checks to see if Lancelot’s attack is 1000 or more. If it is, Lancelot deals 700 damage to the resonator targeted by his ability. Since the ability must resolve during the final priority sequence in the Declare Attack Step (CR 8.2G), it is impossible to kill a blocker with his trigger.

The next card, “Adombrali, the Unfathomable,” involved the highest number of judge calls:

When resolving the “when this card enters the battlefield” ability triggered by Adombrali’s [Incarnation] keyword skill, the trigger must be performed in the order listed on the card. This means that the abilities resolve in the following order, depending on attributes of the resonators banished:

Light = Gain 400 life, → Fire = Deal 400 damage to up to one target resonator, → Water = Draw a card, → Wind = Produce a will of any attribute, → Darkness = Your opponent loses 400 life.

Thus, if you banish a Water and Wind resonator, you must draw your card first before naming the attribute of the will produced. This is because the ability is a single trigger, similar to “Alice, the Drifter in the World.”

Finally, the third question involved the colloquial term “stealing priority,” as well as the general timing of standbies, such as “Portal of Truth” or “Sign to the Future:”

Standbies are cast as automatic abilities, no matter what zone they are cast from. Automatic abilities are checked before either player has priority in the priority sequence. The colloquial term “stealing priority” refers to the ability of a player to respond before their opponent as turn player has priority and to prevent them from holding priority to cast a card with the speed of a [Spell: Chant]. A common example is the card “Gwiber, the White Dragon:”

Since Gwiber costs less to cast for each resonator you control that has entered your field this turn, players prefer to hold priority after their second resonator hits the battlefield in order to cast Gwiber for . However, if the trigger condition is met, a player can cast a [Spell: Chant – Standby] before the turn player has priority to cast Gwiber, either by destroying one of the resonators lowering Gwiber’s cost with the Standby itself or destroying one of the resonators with another spell in response to the Standby on the chase. Either way, this effectively increases the cost of Gwiber before the turn player ever has the opportunity to cast it. This situation is what players describe when they use the term “stealing priority.”

However, a player must play a [Spell: Chant – Standby] promptly during the priority sequence they wish to cast it in. It is against tournament policy to intentionally delay your standby until you find out what your opponent wants to do, and then try to rewind their play. This is a Minor Unsporting Conduct penalty (Warning) that will be upgraded to a Failure to Follow Direct Instructions penalty (Game Loss) if done repeatedly in a tournament, in addition to further Minor Unsporting Conduct penalties.

As always, I am always open to PMs or comments if you have questions about any of the rules found within or elsewhere. Thank you for reading!

~ Stephanie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *