Judge of Will – Lexicon special!

Judge of Will – Lexicon special!

Hello and thank you for your interest in Judge of Will!

This series will cover rules interactions that judges have been noticing need clarification. In order to assist the player base and limit the necessity of judge calls during events for commonly misinterpreted scenarios, we will highlight a typical or specific example of card interaction, a simple explanation of how it should resolve, and then a more in-depth clarification using the rules.  This issue uses CR 5.12.

Today’s article is going to cover some basic game terms and concepts that newer plays may hear and mistake the meaning, because of their use in other games.

BANISH

                                                         

Per CR 5.11 Sec 10.10:
Banish – To banish a card, put the card into owner’s graveyard.
A player may not banish cards he or she doesn’t control.

In other games, banish may mean to remove the card form the game – not so in Force of Will.  Banishment is usually done as a cost or effect , such as for Cinderella’s ability.  Banish is not in itself an action, and can not be done without a card instructing you to do so.

Also – Banishing a card is not the same as having it Destroyed.  The following card interaction does not cause you to take damage:
                                                        

 

SYMBOL SKILLS:

PIERCE

                                                         

Pierce is an ability that allows damage to go ‘over’ a blocker’s defensive stat and apply to the chosen attacked object.  It has no relevance if blocking is not declared.  If attacking a resonator, all of the damage only applies to the resonator – there is not extra carryover to a player.

Per CR 5.12 Sec 11.1:

[Pierce]

  • DEF of a J/resonator minus damage on it is called the J/resonator’s capacity.
  • Attack by J/resonator with [Pierce] is blocked, and as the attacking J/resonator deals damage by rules in a battle resolution step, if it deals more than blocking J/resonator’s capacity, the number of damage excess is dealt to the original attacked object. This is continuous ability.
  • Having two or more [Pierce] is redundant.
  • Damage by [Pierce] is battle damage.

TARGET ATTACK

                                                         
Target attack does NOT target, despite the name.  The skill merely allows the resonator to choose a recovered resonator as the object of their attack when declared as an attacked.

Per CR 5.12 Sec 11.2:

[Target Attack]       A J/resonator with [Target Attack] can attack against recovered J/resonator. This is continuous ability.

FIRST STRIKE

                                                        
First strike damage does not apply when an effect causes damage nor when a resonator is blocking in Force of Will.  This similarly named ability in Magic:the Gathering  works differently in those rules.

Per CR 5.12 Sec 11.3:

[First Strike]      Attacking J/resonator with [First Strike] can deal damage before any J/resonator without it. This is continuous ability. (See First Strike Battle Resolution Step (8.4) and Normal Battle Resolution Step (8.5) for more detail. )

FLYING

                                                        
Flying is a Symbol Skill that represent a continuous ability.  It is mentioned here because Force of will allows you to attack rested resonators – a FLYING resonator that is rested can be attacked by a non-flying resonator, because all the skill represents is a blocking restriction placed when it attacks.

Per CR 5.12 Sec 11.5:

[Flying]   Attack by J/resonator with [Flying] can be blocked only by J/resonator with [Flying]. This is continuous ability.

 

SWIFTNESS (SUMMONING SICKNESS)

                                                          
Summoning Sickness is a  term used by players of Magic: The Gathering, this term can be misleading to new Force of Will players.  It refers to the restriction on attacking placed on a resonator that has just entered play, and the inability to use activated abilities that require the resonator to rest.

Swiftness is an ability that allows a card to overcome this restriction.  The part that misleads people is that the restriction is lifted immediately upon the start of the next player’s turn, whereas in M:TG the restriction on use of abilities lasts until the start of the opponent’s next turn.

Per CR 5.12 Sec 11.6:

[Swiftness]:      J/resonator with [Swiftness] can attack and use its [Activate] ability with [rest symbol] in its cost in the turn it’s put into a field. This is continuous ability.

 

It is also relevant that Blocking does not have a COST of resting the blocking resonator, the rest is an effect of the declaration of the blocker.

 

If you QUICKCAST  a resonator it can be used to block immediately after it resolves – but more on this in the combat article to come!
                                                         
Thanks for reading!  Expect more in the near future explaining interactions, rules and more from the event judges here in America for Force of Will!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *