Judge of Will – All About Playing

Hello All, welcome to another article for Judge of Will, this one with the specific instructions passed from World head Judge Lorenzo Gigli to help you understand the in-depth interactions that take place when you play a card to the chase.


To play a spell or ability and put it onto the chase, you must go through the following steps in order.

You can’t start to play a spell or ability if there’s an effect that stops you from playing that spell or ability.

– You announce the card or ability, reveal its source if that source is not currently revealed, and then put the spell or ability on the chase. The source of the spell or ability remains revealed while the spell or ability is being played.

– If the spell or ability has a variable cost represented by an (X), you choose the value of X. If the spell or ability with X in its cost is played “without paying” its cost, only a value of 0 can be chosen for (X).

– If the spell or ability is modal, indicated by the phrase “choose [a number]:”, you choose which mode or modes to use. Each mode is separated by a semicolon. You can’t choose the same mode more than once.

– If the spell or ability has targets , you must choose those targets in any order that allows all of them to be chosen. The spell or ability can’t be played unless legal choices can be made for all of its targets.

  • If the spell or ability is modal, you choose targets for only the chosen modes.
  • If the spell or ability has a variable number of targets, you must first choose that number and then choose those targets. If the spell or ability requires information from the game to determine the number of targets that can be chosen, that information is locked in first.

– Calculate the total cost for the spell or ability, first substituting an alternate cost if one is used, then adding any additional costs in any order, and then subtracting any cost reductions in any order. Cost additions are cumulative, as are cost reductions. If the cost is below 0 after subtracting cost reductions, it’s treated as 0. You must then pay costs in any order.

– After the above steps are completed, the spell or ability becomes played, triggering any applicable abilities or effects that trigger off a card being played, an ability being used, or a target becoming targeted.

– If, at any time during these steps, you’re unable to finish playing the spell or ability, the entire action is rewound, and the game state reverts to the game state before the action was attempted. If a player had priority, it will be returned to that player.

– Once an ability has been put onto the chase, it exists independently of its source. Removing or modifying the source won’t cancel the ability. As an ability resolves, if its source is no longer in the expected zone, that source’s last known information is used.


 

Let’s look at an example of what this might look like:

The situation is that you have resolved a copy of The Overlord’s Baptism.  Your J-Ruler, Overlord of the Seven kingdoms, Valentina, revealed seven different Seven Kings in the sideboard when the entry trigger resolved.  You have rested Laevattin for the effect that includes a cost reduction, and it resolved.

Your opponent has a Barrier of Shadows in the Field.  Now you want to play Pricia’s God’s Art.

Step By Step you do the following:

You announce the card or ability, reveal its source if that source is not currently revealed, and then put the spell or ability on the chase.

Name <Summon the Sacred Beasts> God’s Art

If the spell or ability has a variable cost represented by an (X), you choose the value of X. If the spell or ability with X in its cost is played “without paying” its cost, only a value of 0 can be chosen for (X).

Choose 4 for X.  While we may be replacing and reducing the cost, we are not attempting to play “without paying its cost”

<Summon the Sacred Beasts> is not Modal.  Modal Spells look like Xeex, the Ancient Magic, or Keen Sense.  Skip the choice.

<Summon the Sacred Beasts> does not target.  Spells and abilities that target will state that in the cost or effect, similar to Stoning to Death or Calamity Jane. Skip target choices.

– Calculate the total cost for the spell or ability, first substituting an alternate cost if one is used, then adding any additional costs in any order, and then subtracting any cost reductions in any order. Cost additions are cumulative, as are cost reductions. If the cost is below 0 after subtracting cost reductions, it’s treated as 0. You must then pay costs in any order.

This is where it gets tricky.  

  • <Summon the Sacred Beasts> total cost is WWW4.
  • We now substitute the alternate cost of 2 from Overlord’s Baptism.
  • Barrier of Shadows makes the God’s Art cost 1 extra, making it 3.
  • Laevateinn’s effect reduces the cost by 2, making it 1.
  • Pay 1. 

The rest of the requirements to play are met because the scenario has no triggers on the playing of abilities, and the process was completed when you paid the will.

When <Summon the Sacred Beasts> resolves, it resolves with the X value of the effect set to 4 because you did that before replacing the cost.

 

I hope his volume of Judge of Will has been helpful to you and improves your play experience!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *