Whether you are new to the game or are a tcg veteran, sometimes rules can be a bit confusing. We hope that this page will clear up a few of the more common questions. If you need a more detailed set of rules, you can find the most recent version of the comprehensive rules here.

 

Abilities:

 

Does Blazer / Necronomicon remove himself from the game?

Yes, but only if he is in the field when he is destroyed or banished. This is the effect of Last Known Information and of Active abilities. As he is moving to the grave the game knows to replace the movement from the grave to the remove from game area. However, the ability is not active unless he is already in play. If he is countered, then he goes to the graveyard unless another effect would remove him from the game (I.E. another blazer, Necronomicon). (CR 5.01 sec 9.2, 9.11)
Blazer Necronomicon
Can I rest my ruler for an activate ability and recover for my first turn? (I.E. Dracula)

No. The first turn of each player skips the recovery phase. (CR 5.01 sec 5.2)

 

Cancelling:

 

What are normal spells?

When placing a card on the chase, it is a normal spell unless it is a resonator, which is instead called a ‘Summon Spell’. (CR 5.01 sec 3.13)

 

Does Law of Silence counter a spell if played in response?

No. Law of silence prevents spells from being played, but does not prevent spells that are already played. Law of silence can be chased as well. (CR 5.01 sec 9.3, 9.9, 10.11, text of Law of Silence)

Law of Silence

 

Does Abdul counter an ability if his negation of abilities is used in response?

No. Abdul removed the ability, but the ability creates a pseudo-card on the chase when it is used. Even if the ability is removed, the pseudo-card is still on the chase. (CR 5.01 sec 9.3, 9.9, 10.11)

Abdul Alhazred, the Harbinger of Despair

 

Combat:

 

Can I block with two resonators?

No, there is only one chance to block in a combat step, and only one resonator can be selected. (CR 5.01 sec 8.3)

 

If I declare a block with a resonator, and my opponent destroys it in response, what happens?

If a blocker is removed before the damage step, then the damage goes to the original target. (CR 5.01 sec 8.4, 8.5)

 

Can a J ruler attack if I ‘Do Judgement’ that turn?

Only if the J-Ruler has swiftness. The J-Ruler is a new J-Ruler that has not been under your control since the beginning of this turn. (CR 5.01 sec 8.2, 11.6)

 

Does First Strike work when I block?

No. It only works when your resonator with first strike is attacking. (CR 5.01 sec 11.3)

 

Control:

 

Who can activate the Bind of Gravity ability?

The person who plays the addition controls it, regardless of which resonator they target to add it to. The addition does not leave their field even if added to an opponent’s resonator, and all of its abilities are under that player’s control. (CR 5.01 sec 3.14, 7.2, 10.1)

Bind of Gravity

 

Damage:

 

What is the difference between Damage and DEF reduction?

Damage is dealt directly by spells/abilities or via combat between resonators. Defense reduction is applied by spell/abilities and lowers a numerical value on the card. If damage dealt is greater than a resonator’s current defense, destroy it as part of rules process. Preventing damage is a replacement effect that changes the actual damage dealt. Damage resets to 0 on all resonators or J-Rulers at the end phase. If a J-ruler or resonator’s DEF is 0 or less, it is destroyed by rule process. Rule process is checked before any other action when a priority sequence is entered. (CR 5.01 sec 2.7, 5.4, 8.4, 8.5, 10.6, 10.9, 10.17, 13.2)

 

Can you chase damage?

No. There is no priority sequence for damage. There is one directly after a blocker is declared or not and another directly after damage is dealt (which causes the rules process to immediately destroy J-rulers and resonators dealt more damage than their defense.) (CR 5.01 sec 8.4, 8.5)

 

Formats:

 

What is Life break?

Life break is a mechanic used in Valhalla Ruleset play. It currently only appears on cards from the Valhalla starter sets in the US. The mechanic allows you to, after resolving mulligans, set 4 cards into a life break zone and when your life total hits under multiples of the 1000’s you can choose to flip the top card in the area and use its break effect if it has one, then put it into the graveyard.
(CR (Comprehensive Rules) 5.01 sec 1.2, sec 3.10)

 

Can you use Valhalla starter deck cards in tournaments?

Depends on the tournament:
Cards from all released sets and non-sets are legal for the Origin Format (Origin/Valhalla and Origin/Bifrost).
Cards from the Valhalla cluster are legal for the Valhalla Format (Valhalla). (This would only be a starter deck-only tournament in the US>)
Cards from the Grimm cluster are legal for the Grimm Format (Grimm).
Cards from the Alice cluster are legal for the Alice Format (Grimm).
Cards from the last two clusters are legal for the New Frontiers Format (New Frontiers). (Starter cards are not considered to be from a ‘released’ set unless Valhalla comes to America. This will not likely happen before it would rotate later this year.)
Origin format may be played in two different modes:
Origin/Valhalla (with Lifebreak) and Origin/Bifrost (without Lifebreak).
Valhalla Format is with Lifebreak only.
Grimm Format is without Lifebreak only.
New Frontiers Rotation: When the first set of a new cluster is released, the oldest cluster in New Frontiers rotates out and is no longer legal. Since September 2015, cards from the following clusters will be legal in New Frontiers: Grimm cluster and Alice cluster. (Tournament floor rules A3, A4)

 

Is there a banned list in U.S. game play?

Currently there is no banned list in the US.

 

 

How does Sinbad / Morgiana interact with drawing multiple cards? (Cheshire Cat, Forty Thieves, Witches Dagger, etc.?)

Replacement effects happen on each instance of the trigger. For every draw, you may trigger a replacement effect and do that instead of the original effect. In cases where a discard or card is placed back on top of the library after all draws occur and/or are replaced, the effect resolves as normal forcing a discard or card placement, even if all of the draws were replaced. (CR 5.01 sec 9.10, 10.1)

Sinbad, the Windrider Merchant Morgiana, the Wise Servant

 

What happens if a J-ruler/resonator added with Ragnarok attacks Blazer?

When two competing replacement effects apply to the same situation, the controller of the card chooses which to use. Blazer’s controller can always apply its own replacement effect to deny the use of the Ragnarok’s life gain. (CR 5.01 sec 9.10)

Ragnarok, the Divine Sword of Savior Blazer

 

Does the effect of Pumpkin Witch / Awakening at the End / midnight Bell apply to resonators put into play after the effect resolves?

Yes. New resonators that resolve and are placed into play fulfill the requirements of the effects condition while the condition is still active, and therefore receive the effect. (CR 5.01 sec 9.9)

Pumpkin Witch

 

Targeting:

 

Can a Pied Piper or Etna or Bind of Gravity can rest already rested resonators?

Yes. If the target is not required to be in a specific state to be targeted (I.E. Witch’s Dagger can only target a rested resonator) then it is a legal target for these abilities, and their full effects will apply to the target. (CR 5.01 sec 9.3)

Hamelin's Pied Piper

 

If I target a Pied Piper or Etna with an Abdul negation during my draw do my locked resonators recover?

No. The game creates a continuous effect on the resonator that prevents the targets from recovering. This is not an ability given to the target, merely a constant game rule caused by the card when the ability starts. (CR 5.01 sec 9.1, 9.9)

Etna, the Snow Queen Abdul Alhazred, the Harbinger of Despair

 

Does Cinderella kill Cheshire Cat?

Sometimes. Cheshire Cat is not targeted at all by Cinderella, and therefore not protected from the damage. If the damage is equal to or higher than the cat’s defense, the cat dies. (CR 5.01 sec 9.3, 9.5)

Cinderella, the Ashen Maiden Cheshire Cat, the Grinning Remnant

 

Can Glimpse of Kaguya target a ruler resting for its J-activate ability?

No. The text on a Ruler is not an actual Activate ability, it is the requisite cost for the ‘Do Judgement’ Action. ‘Do Judgement’ is a rulebook ability that Rulers have and not an activated ability. (CR 5.01 sec 7.5)

Glimpse of Kaguya

 

Understanding the Chase:

 

How do I use Incarnation abilities?

When paying the cost of a card with incarnate, you may pay the cost with a replacement cost of placing resonators of the appropriate attribute from your field into the graveyard (banishing them). (CR 5.01 sec 9.3, 12.2)

 

When can I J-Activate?

The action ‘Do Judgement’ can be done during your turn, when you have priority, and the chase area is empty. (CR 5.01 sec 7.5)

 

How do I use Chant Standby cards?

When you wish to place a card in the standby area, pay 2 will of any type then place it face down in the chant-standby area. When you wish to play the chant – standby card, activate it by its trigger condition then place the card on the chase. If it is played from the chant-standby zone, fulfill all requirements before the colon (:) then reveal it to trigger it. If it is played from hand pay the cost of the spell to place it on the chase. Standby cards cannot be triggered from the standby zone the turn they are placed.(CR 5.01 sec 7.6, 7.9 9.3)

 

What does Banish mean?

Banish means to put one of YOUR cards on the field in your graveyard. It does not remove from the game. (A card that needs to say “remove from game” for that.) (CR 5.01 sec 10.10)

 

When can I use Awakening?

It can only be used as an additional cost when you play the resonator. (CR 5.01 sec 12.1)

 

Can I ‘Do Judgment’ then rest for a stone?

No. ‘Do Judgement’ and ‘Call Magic Stone’ are mutually exclusive abilities during a turn. If your resonator has swiftness, they may attack. (CR 5.01 sec 7.5, 7.11)

 

Can I cast Spell-Chants on my opponents turn?

No. Spell-Chant are only playable in your own main phase. (CR 5.01 sec 7.3)

 

When can you respond to Athos’ enter ability and how does it resolve?

When an enter ability is placed on the chase then priority will pass to the opponent before the ability resolves. Once an ability starts resolving, it resolves completely to all legitimate targets. In response to the ability being on the chase, if Athos is removed, the ability resolves and the addition can still go to hand. Once the controller of Athos has started their resolution they can add the card to Athos if the requirements are met. (CR 5.01 sec 9.3, 9.6)

Athos, the Three Musketeers

 

Will Production:

 

When is the ‘Call Phase’?

The call phase was removed and the action is now ‘Call Magic Stone’ during the main phase. (CR 5.01 sec 7.11)

 

Can Magic Stone of Moon Light produce any attribute will if Magic Stone of Moon Shade is on the field?

Yes. Magic Stone of moon can produce any attribute, so moon light can copy any attribute. (CR 5.01 sec 9.7)

Magic Stone of Moon Light Magic Stone of Moon Shade

 

Does resting for will start a chase?

No. Will-producing abilities resolve immediately without using the chase zone. (CR 5.01 sec 9.7)

 

Can I rest for will before the recovery phase and then rest again to have effectively double will?
No. When recovering your resonators, all produced will is removed. The only other time will is removed is at the end of turn. (CR 5.01 sec 5.2, 5.4)

 

Is moon considered will and an attribute?

Moon is a will characteristic and not an actual attribute. It can be used for generic will cost or for moon-specific will abilities costs. (CR 5.01 sec 9.7)

 

Can my J-Ruler still rest for Stones?

Yes.’ Call Stone’ can be performed by a J-Ruler who has not ‘Done Judgement’ that turn.(CR 5.01 sec 7.11)

 

Zones:

 

Can I have multiple field spells of the same name in play?

Yes. As of CR 5.01 there is no limit to the amount of copies of field additions that you can play. All field additions enter the field. (CR 5.01 sec 7.11)

 

Does Xeex send a resonator from field to grave?

No. If you chose the cancel target resonator mode, the spell is cancelled and never enters the field, going immediately to the graveyard zone from the chase zone. Unless they specifically say otherwise, no abilities on the resonator card are considered active. (CR 5.01 sec 10.11)

Xeex the Ancient Magic

 

What happens if I retarget 1001 stories with Shooting star and the player controls Liberator of wind/Sheherezade?

The player of 1001 stories removes the resonator and all visible copies in publicly known areas from the game. They then search their hand and deck for more copies, but may fail to find additional copies while searching. (CR 5.01 sec 10.13)

Stories Told in 1001 Nights Shooting Star Liberator_of_Wind

 

Other:

 

How does Last Known Information work?

When a card is moving zones, if its ability was active as it was moving, apply all effects of that ability including triggers and replacement effects as it moves. This is how Cheshire Cat shuffles, also why Necronomicon and blazer remove themselves from the game. (CR 5.01 sec 9.10)

 

What does “finish whatever the card can” mean?

Whenever an ability resolves, do as much as is possible. If all targets become illegal but the card has non-targeting effects, resolve the non-targeting ability. If only some of the targets become illegal, resolve the effects against the rest of the targets. (CR 5.01 sec 1.4, 9.3)

 

Is Double Sleeving allowed? Can I use different sleeves for my Ruler and Magic Stone?

Yes. However, each card must be in the same set of 2 sleeves.
You may use different sleeves for your rulers and magic stones from the rest of your deck.

 

Do I lose half my life when my J-Ruler is destroyed?

No. This rule has been removed from the latest Comprehensive Rule files.

 

The most recent version of the Comprehensive Rules can be found here.

8 Comments

  1. Imperial Tank says, “banish a resonator: your j-ruler gains [+500/+500] until end of turn”. Can you banish an opponents resonator? Also, do you need to have a j-ruler to activate the ability?

  2. Kaim, demon of the vice says when it comes into play rest target resonator your opponent controllers then take control of it til end of turn.
    Can someone choose a resonator already rested as target

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *